Young in line for first Scotland cap

Young in line for first Scotland cap

Lock Glen Young is set for his Scotland debut from the bench against Argentina in Saturday's series decider (Santiago Del Estero, live on Sky Sports, Saturday 16 July - kick-off 8.10pm BST), in a squad captained by club centurion Hamish Watson.

The former Jed Forest RFC man – who joined the club from Harlequins last summer – has enjoyed an impressive debut season in the Scottish capital, scoring four tries in 12 appearances, earning a spot in a rotated Scotland Squad. Young featured in the Scotland 'A' win against Chile last month, and now has the chance to become Edinburgh's sole debutant of the summer.

Gregor Townsend has given a number of opportunities to players across the matchday 23, including giving Hamish Watson the armband for the first time, having made his 50th cap for his country last weekend. Watson is joined by Blair Kinghorn and Mark Bennett in the starting lineup, at fly-half and outside-centre respectively.

Townsend can call upon the capital 'bomb-squad', with Dave Cherry and Pierre Schoeman named alongside Young on the replacements bench.

Scotland team to face Argentina at The Estadio Único Madre de Ciudades, Santiago Del Estero, live on Sky Sports, Saturday 16 July - kick-off 8.10pm BST.

15. Ollie Smith - Glasgow Warriors

14. Rufus McLean - Glasgow Warriors
13. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby
12. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors
11. Duhan van der Merwe - Worcester Warriors

10. Blair Kinghorn - Edinburgh Rugby
9. Ali Price - Glasgow Warriors (Vice-Captain)

1. Rory Sutherland - Worcester Warriors
2. Ewan Ashman - Sale Sharks
3. Zander Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors
4. Scott Cummings - Glasgow Warriors
5. Jonny Gray - Exeter Chiefs (Vice-Captain)
6. Rory Darge - Glasgow Warriors
7. Hamish Watson - Edinburgh Rugby (Captain)
8. Matt Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors


16. Dave Cherry - Edinburgh Rugby
17. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby
18. Javan Sebastian – Scarlets
19. Glen Young - Edinburgh Rugby
20. Andy Christie – Saracens
21. George Horne - Glasgow Warriors
22. Ross Thompson - Glasgow Warriors
23. Sam Johnson - Glasgow Warriors

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up