Vellacott in line for first Scotland cap

Vellacott in line for first Scotland cap

Scrum-half Ben Vellacott is set to make his international debut for Scotland, named as one of nine Edinburgh Rugby players in Gregor Townsend's 23-man squad for Saturday's clash against the Azzuri (Saturday 12 March, 14:15pm) - live on ITV.

Vellacott is selected as a replacement for the crunch tie in Rome, and could have his first involvement for the senior Scotland side, having represented his country at age-grade level.

Darcy Graham starts again at right wing, in a new-look back three alongside Stuart Hogg and Kyle Steyn.

Pierre Schoeman links up with two Glasgow men in the starting front row, and will pack down in the tight-five with vice-captain Grant Gilchrist and future Edinburgh player Sam Skinner at lock.

Hamish Watson returns to the side after a covid-absence, starting at openside flanker.

Gregor Townsend can call on plenty of Edinburgh Rugby reinforcements from the replacements, including hooker Stuart McInally and tighthead prop WP Nel in the front row. Jamie Hodgson and the departing Magnus Bradbury round out the forwards that can make an impact when called upon, with potential new-cap Vellacott chosen at number 21.

Scotland team to face Italy in the 2022 Guinness Six Nations at Stadio Olimpico live on ITV, Saturday, 12 March – kick-off 2.15pm.

15. Stuart Hogg - Exeter Chiefs - (Captain)

14. Darcy Graham - Edinburgh Rugby
13. Chris Harris - Gloucester Rugby
12. Sam Johnson - Glasgow Warriors
11. Kyle Steyn - Glasgow Warriors

10. Finn Russell - Racing 92 - (Vice-Captain)
9. Ali Price - Glasgow Warriors

1. Pierre Schoeman - Edinburgh Rugby
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors
3. Zander Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors
4. Sam Skinner - Exeter Chiefs
5. Grant Gilchrist - Edinburgh Rugby - (Vice-Captain)
6. Rory Darge - Glasgow Warriors
7. Hamish Watson - Edinburgh Rugby
8. Matt Fagerson - Glasgow Warriors


16. Stuart McInally - Edinburgh Rugby
17. Allan Dell - London Irish
18. WP Nel - Edinburgh Rugby
19. Jamie Hodgson - Edinburgh Rugby
20. Magnus Bradbury - Edinburgh Rugby
21. Ben Vellacott - Edinburgh Rugby
22. Adam Hastings - Gloucester Rugby
23. Sione Tuipulotu - Glasgow Warriors

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up