Throwback: Three 1872 Cup aggregate wins

Throwback: Three 1872 Cup aggregate wins

With this season's 1872 Cup returning to an aggregate scoring format, we look back at Edinburgh Rugby's trio of festive derby aggregate victories.

2008/09 | 39-6 at BT Murrayfield | 20-25 at Firhill | Aggregate: 59-31

Edinburgh claimed their first ever 1872 Cup win back in the 2008/09 season, all thanks to a crushing victory over Glasgow at BT Murrayfield.

The victory was inspired by then-captain Mike Blair and the trusty boot of Phil Godman. Blair opened the scoring – capitalising on a Dan Parks mistake – before the hosts ran away with the tie thanks to tries from Simon Webster, eventual Player of the Match Hugo Southwell, and Ben Cairns. Godman added 19 points from the tee, giving Edinburgh a huge lead of 39-6 going into the second leg of the derby.

Glasgow took the win in the return fixture, with a 25-20 vistory at Firhill, however the damage was already done. Edinburgh’s huge opening win proved unassailable, with the capital side claiming their first ever 1872 Cup with a 59-31 aggregate score.

2014/15 | 6-16 at Scotstoun | 20-8 at BT Murrayfield | Aggregate: 26-24

After the dominant win of 2008/09, there was a five-season wait for Edinburgh to regain the 1872 Cup... but it was well worth the wait.

Club legend Tim Visser put on a show at BT Murrayfield to claim a comeback win in the 2014/15 festive derby.

Glasgow put themselves in a commanding position in the first match, with the boot of Duncan Weir and a try from Josh Strauss giving Glasgow a 16-6 win and a 10-point lead ahead of the decider.

Finn Russell nudged Glasgow into a 13-point aggregate lead, before Tim Visser scored a stunning brace to swing the tie in favour of the capital club.

The Flying Dutchman burst through a hole in the Glasgow defence, before picking off an intercept to score his second in four minutes.

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne converted both scores and added two penalties to put Edinburgh into an aggregate lead. Niko Matawalu scored a brilliant try in the second half to make things nervy, however Edinburgh had enough points on the board to secure a 20-8 win on the night, and a 26-24 victory on aggregate.

2015/16 | 23-11 at BT Murrayfield | 14-11 at BT Murrayfield | Aggregate: 37-22

As the famous saying goes: “1872 Cup victories are like London buses, you wait five seasons for one and then two come along at once.” Well, something like that!

Edinburgh backed up the close-run victory of the season prior with a more comfortable result in 2015/16 – despite being underdogs against the then-reigning Pro12 champions - winning both matches to secure their second 1872 Cup in as many seasons.

Mark Bennett, playing on the other side of the city divide, opened the scoring for Glasgow, before Matt Scott and John Hardie both scored to give the home side a commanding lead ahead of the second leg, winning the first fixture 23-11.

Inclement Scottish weather added some extra drama to the tie, with Scotstoun’s waterlogged pitch resulting in the second leg being moved to BT Murrayfield.

The ‘home’ side looked to put a dent into the 12-point deficit through another Mark Bennett try, however the Hidalgo-Clyne’s kicking and a try from Phil Burleigh saw Edinburgh secure a 14-11 win on the night and press their advantage on aggregate to lift the Cup with a 37-22 score line.

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up