Four named in Scotland U20 side to face England

Four named in Scotland U20 side to face England

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named four Edinburgh Rugby academy prospects in his final 23 Friday's clash with England U20 (Friday 4 February, kick-off 8pm) at DAM Health Stadium - live on BBC iPlayer.

Patrick Harrison and Jed Gelderbloom both start, at hooker and scrum-half respectively, with Ben Evans and Michael Jones named as replacements. Gelderbloom and Evans are both in line to make their Scotland U20 debuts.

Friday's match will be the first time Scotland U20 have played on home soil since Feb 2020, and is the side's debut match at DAM Health Stadium.

The Scotland U20 programme came together late last year and were lucky enough to have Scotland National Men’s team coaches lead their first two camps in Largs.

Since then, several training camps have been held under the coaching guidance of Shade Munro, Rob Chrystie and Kris Burney who return to the coaching team from last year and will continue under Murray’s new leadership.

Buy tickets for Scotland's home matches at DAM Health Stadium

(L-R) Patrick Harrison, Jed Gelderbloom, Ben Evans, Mikey Jones

Ahead of the opening fixture of the Under-20 Six Nations. Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “The team are in a really good place after working hard over the last few months.

“I’m really happy with the squad we’ve been able to select, 11 players have played in an international match of this level before, so they know what to expect.

“It will be a really special night at the DAM Health Stadium on Friday as this group of players get to experience representing their country for the first time on home soil since all 2021 Under-20 Six Nations fixtures were held in Cardiff.

“A large crowd is expected so it should be a great atmosphere to open our campaign with.”

Scotland U20 team to face England on Friday 4 February at DAM Health Stadium, Edinburgh (kick-off 8pm) 

15. Robin McClintock (Montpellier) (0)

14. Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (2)
13. Duncan Munn** (Boroughmuir Bears) (0)
12. Michael Gray* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (4)
11. Ollie Melville (Newcastle University) (4)

10. Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors) (5)
9. Jed Gelderbloom (Edinburgh Rugby) (0)

1. Tom Banatvala (Durham University) (2)
2. Patrick Harrison* (Edinburgh Rugby) (4)
3. Gregor Scougall** (Currie Chieftains) (0)
4. Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders) (0)
5. Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (5)
6. Matthew Deehan (Newcastle Falcons) (0)
8. Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter University) (5)
7. Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (5) CAPTAIN

16. Gregor Hiddleston (GHA) (0)
17. Michael Jones* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (5)
18. Callum Norrie** (Strathallan School) (0)
19. Jake Spurway (Durham University) (0)

20. Olujare Oguntibeju (Ealing Trailfinders) (0)
21. Tim Brown (Glasgow Hawks) (0)
22. Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors) (3)
23. Ben Evans* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (0)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player

**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player

(N) donates previous Scotland U20 appearances.

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up