Three academy prospects to face Wales U20

Three academy prospects to face Wales U20

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named three Edinburgh Rugby academy prospects in his 23-man squad for Friday's clash with Wales U20 (Friday 11 February, kick-off 8pm) at Stadium ZipWorld, Colwyn Bay- live on BBC iPlayer and S4C

Patrick Harrison retains his place at hooker, lining up next to prop Michael Jones who moves into the starting side. Ben Evans is also included in the squad, the versatile back named on the bench.

Scotland U20 kicked off their Six Nations campaign with a spirited defeat against England at DAM Health Stadium - picking up a try bonus-point on a blustery night in the capital. The last time Scotland faced Wales at Colwyn Bay saw the visitors claim a rampant 52-17 victory, with current Edinburgh fly-half Nathan Chamberlain bagging a hat-trick on the night.

Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “There are a huge number of positives to take from last Friday night’s game against England. Our physicality was there, as was our passion and desire to get over the gain line and score some tries but ultimately the team didn’t perform for the full-80 minutes.

“Down in Wales we’ll be looking to stay in the fight, execute our plays more accurately and convert our chances into points when they come.

“If we do that, then I’m confident that the team can perform better than they did last week and get the result we want.”

Scotland U20 team to face Wales on Friday 11 February at Stadium ZipWorld, Colwyn Bay (kick-off 8pm, BBC iPlayer and S4C) 

15. Robin Mc Clintock (Montpellier) (1)

14. Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (3)
13. Duncan Munn** (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (1)
12. Andy Stirrat (GHA) (0)
11. Ollie Melville (Newcastle University) (5)

10. Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors) (6)
9. Murray Redpath (Newcastle University) (5)

1. Michael Jones* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (6)
2. Patrick Harrison* (Edinburgh Rugby) (5)
3. Gregor Scougall** (Currie Chieftains) (1)
4. Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders) (0)
5. Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (5)
6. Olujare Oguntibeju (Ealing Trailfinders) (1)
8. Matthew Deehan (Newcastle Falcons) (2)
7. Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (6) CAPTAIN

16. Gregor Hiddleston (GHA) (1)
17. Ali Rodgers (Glasgow Hawks) (0)
18. Callum Norrie** (Strathallan School) (1)
19. Jake Spurway (Durham University) (1)

20. Robert Gordon (Exeter University) (0)
21. Jonty Cope (Durham University) (0)
22. Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors) (4)
23. Ben Evans* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (1)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player

**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player

(N) donates previous Scotland U20 appearances

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up