Six stars named in PRO14 Dream Team

Six stars named in PRO14 Dream Team

Six Edinburgh players have been named in the 2019-20 Guinness PRO14 Dream, making the capital side the best represented team in this season's end-of-year XV.

Media from across all five countries - including former players and coaches - voted for this season's Dream Team, with players having needed to appear in a minimum of eight fixtures during the current campaign.

In total, seven teams are represented in the Dream Team selection with Edinburgh leading the way with six selections, finalists Leinster have three, their opponents Ulster have two players in the team, with Dragons, Toyota Cheetahs, Benetton Rugby and Cardiff Blues all earning one spot each.

Edinburgh have three players named in the forward pack. Pierre Schoeman makes his second straight Dream Team in as many seasons with the club, while Fijian international Bill Mata - who picked up last year's Players' Player of the Season - is once again selected at No. 8.

Lock Grant Gilchrist - who made his 150th appearance for the club in Saturday's Semi-Final defeat to Ulster - is rewarded for his fine campaign and is paired with Leinster's Scott Fardy in the second-row.

The capital side are represented equally in the backs with a further three players selected. Blair Kinghorn - named in the 2017-18 Dream Team - returns at fullback following an impressive 2019-20 season, while this year's top try-scorer Duhan van der Merwe gets the nod on the wing.

Finally, after picking up last season's Golden Boot award, stand-off Jaco van der Walt is named in his first-ever Dream Team after pulling the strings at 10 throughout the current campaign.

2019-20 Guinness PRO14 Dream Team

15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)

14 Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby)

13 Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues)

12 Stuart McCloskey (Ulster)

11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh)

10 Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh)

9 John Cooney (Ulster)

1 Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh)

2 Joseph Dweba (Toyota Cheetahs)

3 Leon Brown (Dragons)

4 Scott Fardy (Leinster)

5 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)

6 Max Deegan (Leinster)

7 Will Connors (Leinster)

8 Bill Mata (Edinburgh)

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up