Seven up for Twickenham Test

Seven up for Twickenham Test

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named seven Edinburgh Rugby players in his squad for Saturday's Guinness Six Nations opener against England at Twickenham (6 February, kick-off 4.45pm)

Rory Sutherland is selected at loosehead prop, while the familiar back-row pairing of Jamie Ritchie - named vice-captain - and Hamish Watson, who both recently penned long-term deals with the club, continue on the flanks.

Duhan van der Merwe is the club's only back named in the starting XV, with the 6ft 4in flyer selected on the left wing.

Three Edinburgh stars are named among the replacements. Dave Cherry could make his international debut if called upon, while WP Nel and Jaco van der Walt are also in the matchday 23.

This weekend's Calcutta Cup match marks the 150th anniversary year of the first ever international match which was played between the two sides.

To mark the occasion, each Scotland player in the starting XV will have the corresponding name from the 1871 team embroidered onto their shirt to connect with side which faced England at Raeburn Place in Edinburgh 1871.

Ahead of the fixture, Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend, said: This most historic of fixtures against England is a great start to the 2021 Guinness Six Nations and a challenge we will fully embrace with the objective of playing to our potential and ultimately lifting our supporters in these difficult times.

“We learned a lot about ourselves and where the game is going during our Autumn campaign, and we aim to build on this base during the next seven weeks. We are set for a huge challenge against England as we will be facing one of the best teams in the world.”

Scotland team to play England at Twickenham Stadium, 2021 Guinness Six Nations

Saturday 6 February (kick-off 4.45pm) – live on ITV Sport

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 80 caps

14. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 50 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 23 caps
12. Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) – uncapped
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 5 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 51 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 34 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – 61 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 23 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 36 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps

16. David Cherry (Edinburgh) – uncapped
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps
18. Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 40 caps
19. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 65 caps
20. Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 1 cap
22. Jaco van de Walt (Edinburgh) – 1 cap
23. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 26 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up