Seven changes for Zebre Parma clash

Seven changes for Zebre Parma clash

​The Edinburgh Rugby team to face Zebre Parma in tomorrow night’s United Rugby Championship match at DAM Health Stadium was today named by Head Coach Mike Blair (Friday 22 April, kick-off 7.45pm) – live on Premier Sports.

The squad selection includes seven changes to the starting XV that claimed a 41-19 win against Bath last weekend as the capital side return to URC action after securing a place in the last eight of the EPCR Challenge Cup.

A reshuffled back-three sees Jaco van der Walt selected at full-back, while Freddie Owsley comes on to the wing to make his third start of the season.

Academy graduate Cammy Hutchison gets his opportunity at inside-centre after featuring from the bench against Bath as Henry Prygos – named captain – gets the nod at scrum-half.

In the pack, Dave Cherry (hooker), Glen Young (lock) and Mesulame Kunavula (number 8) all start in place of Scotland trio Stuart McInally, Grant Gilchrist and Magnus Bradbury.

Ahead of the Scottish X Italian Shield match-up, Blair, said: “The games are coming thick and fast as we move into the business end of the season. We face another huge test this weekend against Zebre Parma.

“We’ve made a number of changes to the starting line-up and we’re excited to see guys take their opportunity. Young players like Cammy [Hutchison] and Freddie [Owsley] have had to work hard and stay patient for their chance, so they’ll be fired up to pull on the Edinburgh jersey tomorrow night.

“The guys are playing with confidence but we know we’ll have to be switched on from the first whistle to get a result against a Zebre side that pushed us really hard in Parma. The crowd will once again have a big part to play in driving us forward. We can’t wait to get back out there at DAM Health Stadium.”

In the back-three, Van der Walt and Owsley start alongside Argentine international winger Ramiro Moyano.

Scotland internationalist Mark Bennett – a try-scorer against Bath – links up with Hutchison in midfield, while Pyrgos partners stand-off Blair Kinghorn at half-back.

The return of Cherry at hooker is the only alteration to an otherwise unchanged front-row as props Pierre Schoeman and Lee-Roy Atalifo once again start up front.

Locks Young and Marshall Sykes complete the tight-five, while number 8 Kunavula anchors a back-row which once again incudes flankers Ben Muncaster and Hamish Watson.

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Zebre Parma at DAM Health Stadium in the United Rugby Championship
Friday 22 April (kick-off 7.45pm) – live on Premier Sports

15. Jaco van der Walt (84)

14. Ramiro Moyano (12)
12. Mark Bennett (66)
12. Cammy Hutchison (13)
11. Freddie Owsley (2)

10. Blair Kinghorn (114) VICE-CAPTAIN
9. Henry Pyrgos (65) CAPTAIN

1. Pierre Schoeman (78)
2. Dave Cherry (53) VICE-CAPTAIN
3. Lee-Roy Atalifo (22)
4. Marshall Sykes (20)
5. Glen Young (11)
6. Ben Muncaster (12)
7. Hamish Watson (127)
8. Mesulame Kunavula (21)


16. Adam McBurney (10)
17. Harrison Courtney (6)
18. Angus Williams (11)
19. Jamie Hodgson (36)
20. Connor Boyle (21)
21. Ben Vellacott (17)
22. James Lang (15)
23. Matt Currie (12)

Unavailable: Luan de Bruin, Luke Crosbie, Darcy Graham, Sam Grahamslaw, Nick Haining, Damien Hoyland, Henry Immelman, Viliame Mata, WP Nel (suspension), Jamie Ritchie, Ben Toolis, Boan Venter

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up