Ritchie named Scotland captain for summer series

Ritchie named Scotland captain for summer series

Back-row Jamie Ritchie has been named Scotland captain for the upcoming summer series as Interim Head Coach, Mike Blair, today named a 37-strong squad for games against England A, Romania and Georgia.

Ten Edinburgh Rugby stars have been named in the squad, including four uncapped players, Luke Crosbie, Jamie Hodgson, Jack Blain and Charlie Shiel, who will all be in contention to earn full international honours.

Magnus Bradbury returns to international action in the forwards and is selected alongside teammates Simon Berghan, Dave Cherry, as well as the aforementioned Ritchie who this seasoned penned the longest contract extension in club history, with Head Coach Richard Cockerill at the time stating that the back-row had 'the capacity to captain his country.'

In the backs, uncapped duo Shiel and Blain are are joined by Damien Hoyland and Blair Kinghorn, with the back-three combination completing the ten selected from the capital club.

Interim Head Coach, Mike Blair, said: “We have selected a mix of genuine Test match experience and a number of players who have impressed in the recent past to warrant a place in a squad that will want to continue the positive progress we have built up on and off the pitch in recent months.

“England A, Romania and Georgia will each pose different and tough challenges and we will have to be operating at our best to enjoy success, continuing on from some promising performances during the 2021 Guinness Six Nations.

“With the next Rugby World Cup two years away this period gives us an opportunity to increase our depth in key positions and work with players who can put up their hands for international selection this summer, and beyond.”

The full group will convene on Tuesday 15 June to prepare for the England A fixture on Sunday 27 June, with a smaller squad then travelling to Romania and Georgia for the two Test matches on consecutive Saturdays, 10 & 17 July respectively.

With eight Scottish players unavailable following their selection for the British & Irish Lions’ own tour to South Africa the summer squad combines youth and experience and provides an opportunity for players two years out from a Rugby World Cup to demonstrate their international credentials.

Of the uncapped contingent Luke Crosbie, Charlie Shiel (both Edinburgh Rugby) Rory Darge, Jamie Dobie, Rufus McLean, Ross Thompson, (all Glasgow Warriors) Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) and Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) have previously spent time in the Scotland set-up.

For others, namely Sione Tuipulotu, Kiran McDonald, Cole Forbes (all Glasgow Warriors), Jack Blain (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints), Javan Sebastian (Scarlets), Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights), Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) and Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby) call-ups will represent their first taste of a senior international camp.

The squad retains experienced players, with no fewer than 20 previously representing Scotland.

Indeed, six players – Blair Kinghorn, Matt Scott, Adam Hastings, Scott Cummings, Simon Berghan and Jamie Ritchie – have earned at least 20 caps to date.

Scotland Squad for 2021 summer series


Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) – Uncapped
Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints) - Uncapped
Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) – Uncapped
Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 31 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 18 caps
Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby) – 14 caps
David Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps
Alex Craig (Gloucester Rugby) – 2 caps
Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) - Uncapped
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps
Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) - Uncapped
Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights) – Uncapped
Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby) - Uncapped
Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
Kirin McDonald (Glasgow Warriors) - Uncapped
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) CAPTAIN – 27 caps
Javan Sebastian (Scarlets) – Uncapped
Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – 12 caps
Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps


Jack Blain (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped
Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped
Cole Forbes (Glasgow Warriors) - Uncapped
Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps
Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) – 4 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – 25 caps
James Lang (Harlequins) – 6 caps
Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors) - Uncapped
Matt Scott (Leicester Tigers) – 39 caps
Charlie Shiel (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped
Scott Steele (London Irish) – 4 caps
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped
Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) - Uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up