PRO14 Conferences confirmed for 2019-21

PRO14 Conferences confirmed for 2019-21

Edinburgh will face new competition in Guinness PRO14 Conference B for the next two seasons with Munster, Connacht and Cardiff Blues swapping divisions.

The Conferences for the 2019/20 and 2020/21 Guinness PRO14 seasons have today been confirmed with a draw based upon finishing positions resulting in six teams swapping Conferences.

Using the Conference tables completed after Round 21 of the 2018/19 Guinness PRO14 season, teams were ordered from one to 14 based upon their final points totals and then ranked within their union.

The criteria for placing teams in each Conference relies on competitiveness and ensuring an equal spread of teams from each union are present in both Conferences. Full methodology and process is listed further in this text.

As a result, the Conferences for the next two seasons are as follows:

How the Conferences were drawn

First, all teams were placed into a consolidated table

1 Glasgow Warriors (81 pts)

2 Munster Rugby (77)

3 Leinster Rugby (76)

4 Ulster Rugby (63)

5 Connacht Rugby (61)

6 Ospreys Rugby (58)

7 Benetton Rugby (57)

8 Cardiff Blues (54)

9 Scarlets (52)

10 Edinburgh Rugby (51)

11 Toyota Cheetahs (46)

12 Dragons Rugby (26)

13 Isuzu Southern Kings (22)

14 Zebre Rugby Club (19)

Next each team was slotted into their union ranking

SCO 1: Glasgow Warriors (81)

SCO 2: Edinburgh Rugby (51)

ITA 1: Benetton Rugby (57)

ITA 2: Zebre Rugby Club (19)

SA 1: Toyota Cheetahs (46)

SA 2: Isuzu Southern Kings (22)

IRE 1: Munster Rugby (77)

IRE 2: Leinster Rugby (76)

IRE 3: Ulster Rugby (63)

IRE 4: Connacht Rugby (61)

WAL 1: Ospreys Rugby (58)

WAL 2: Cardiff Blues (54)

WAL 3: Scarlets (52)

WAL 4: Dragons (26)

As the team with the most points Glasgow Warriors were placed into Conference A to allow the population to follow the sequence below:

Conference A

Scotland 1 (Glasgow Warriors)

Ireland 2 (Leinster Rugby)

Ireland 3 (Ulster Rugby)

Wales 1 (Ospreys Rugby)

Wales 4 (Dragons Rugby)

Italy 2 (Zebre Rugby Club)

South Africa 1 (Toyota Cheetahs)

Conference B

Scotland 2 (Edinburgh Rugby)

Ireland 1 (Munster Rugby)

Ireland 4 (Connacht Rugby)

Wales 2 (Cardiff Blues)

Wales 3 (Scarlets)

Italy 1 (Benetton Rugby)

South Africa 2 (Isuzu Southern Kings)

This is sequencing is put in place to ensure each union is equally represented in each Conference which is a guiding principal of the format of the Guinness PRO14.

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up