Nine selected by Scotland for Six Nations finale

Nine selected by Scotland for Six Nations finale

Nine Edinburgh stars have been named in the Scotland squad to face Wales this Saturday in the Guinness Six Nations finale at Parc y Scarlets.

With five players in the starting XV, Edinburgh are once again well represented in the back-three as Blair Kinghorn – who shifts from fullback to wing – partners Darcy Graham on the flanks.

In the forwards, Rory Sutherland continues at loosehead prop, while Jamie Ritchie – once again named vice-captain – combines with Hamish Watson in the back-row.

Edinburgh once again provide the bulk of options from the bench, as Stuart McInally, Simon Berghan, Ben Toolis and Duhan van der Merwe are all named among the replacements.

Ahead of the fixture, Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend said: “As a group we are very much looking forward to finally completing our fixture against Wales and returning to play Guinness Six Nations rugby again. We were highly motivated back in March, and that extra edge has come back into our training and preparations this week.

“It’s been great to bring in quality and experience to our starting line-up with players such as Stuart, Jonny and Finn who have been involved in some high-level games in recent weeks. We were also encouraged by Blade’s display at the weekend for Scarlets, which is a timely boost given last weekend’s injury to Matt Fagerson.

“We are expecting a physical battle against a very good side, one which we will be working hard to stay in the fight and to finish the fight in Llanelli. Ultimately, this game provides an opportunity for us to end this extended championship on a positive note and go into the Autumn Nations Cup with some added belief in what this group of players can achieve.”

Scotland team to play Wales at Parc Y Scarlets
Saturday 31 October (kick-off 2:15pm) – live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 76 caps

14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 12 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) - 19 caps
12. James Lang (Harlequins) – 3 caps
11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 50 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 8 caps
2. Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 51 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 30 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps
5.Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – 57 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 19 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 33 caps
8. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – 5 caps

16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 38 caps
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 26 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 26 caps
20. Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 8 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) - Uncapped
22. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 21 caps
23. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 1 cap

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up