Kinghorn returns for Zebre Parma trip

Kinghorn returns for Zebre Parma trip

Scotland internationalist Blair Kinghorn returns from injury to start at stand-off as one of seven changes named by Head Coach Mike Blair for tomorrow’s United Rugby Championship clash with Zebre Parma at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi (Saturday 23 October, kick-off 1pm GMT/ 2pm local) – live on Premier Sports

Kinghorn and centres Cammy Hutchison and James Johnstone replace injured trio Jaco van der Walt (shoulder), James Lang (groin) and Mark Bennett (knee), while Jack Blain is named on the wing in place of the rested Darcy Graham.

In the pack, locks Jamie Hodgson and Pierce Phillips form a revamped second-row pairing – with Grant Gilchrist and Marshall Sykes both rested – while back-row Jamie Ritchie returns to skipper the capital side as Magnus Bradbury moves to the bench.

Ahead of the Round 5 clash in Parma, Blair said: “We were delighted with our overall performance against Vodacom Bulls and it was brilliant to see the passion to play for the jersey from 1 to 23.

“That passion and pride to represent Edinburgh Rugby are virtues we’ll once again need this weekend as we go up against a Zebre Parma side who’ll be desperate to win on home soil.

“We’ve picked up a few knocks but a number of guys step up and get their opportunity. We’re really excited to build on Saturday’s home win and look forward to the challenge that awaits us in Parma.”

Henry Immelman – who grabbed his first try for the club in the 17-10 win over Vodacom Bulls – once again starts at full-back with Blain and Damien Hoyland selected on opposite wings, while scrum-half Charlie Shiel joins returning stand-off Kinghorn at half-back.

Hooker Stuart McInally packs down alongside props Pierre Schoeman and Luan de Bruin in an unchanged front-row.

The inclusion of Ritchie at blindside flanker is the only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-row as number 8 Viliame Mata and openside flanker Luke Crosbie complete the pack.

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Zebre Parma at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi in the United Rugby Championship
Saturday 23 October, kick-off 1pm GMT/ 2pm local – live on Premier Sports

15. Henry Immelman (4)

14. Jack Blain (17)
13. James Johnstone (67)
12. Cammy Hutchison (4)
11. Damien Hoyland (87)

10. Blair Kinghorn (103)
9. Charlie Shiel (37)

1. Pierre Schoeman (69)
2. Stuart McInally (156)
3. Luan de Bruin (2)
4. Jamie Hodgson (26)
5. Pierce Phillips (2)
6. Jamie Ritchie (80) CAPTAIN
7. Luke Crosbie (62)
8. Viliame Mata (93)

Replacements: 16. Dave Cherry (40) 17. Boan Venter (11) 18. Lee-Roy Atalifo (12) 19. Magnus Bradbury (97) 20. Mesu Kunavula (14) 21. Ben Vellacott (4) 22. Charlie Savala (2) 23. Chris Dean (109)

Unavailable due to injury: Mark Bennett, James Lang, Ramiro Moyano, George Taylor, Ben Toolis, Jaco van der Walt, Hamish Watson, Glen Young

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up