Henry named in Team Scotland Sevens squad for 2022 Commonwealth Games

Henry named in Team Scotland Sevens squad for 2022 Commonwealth Games

​Edinburgh Rugby academy winger and Scotland Sevens flyer Jacob Henry will compete in this summer’s Commonwealth Games after being named in the Team Scotland Rugby Sevens squad for the Games which begin later this month in Birmingham.

Henry, 21, came through the ranks at Highland RFC and FOSROC Super6 side Southern Knights following a successful period on the Macphail scholarship in South Africa and has been part of the club’s academy set-up since 2020.

He said: “I’m absolutely delighted. As soon as Ciaran Beattie (Scotland Sevens Head Coach) gave me a call I was over the moon.

“I used to watch Commonwealth Games on the TV with my family and never though in my wildest dreams that I would be one day competing.

“It’s been a crazy journey to get to this point and to win a medal for Scotland would be something special. I can’t wait to get started.”

The men's squad selection is headlined by Lee Jones who is set for a remarkable fourth Games, having represented his country in Delhi (2010), Glasgow (2014) and the Gold Coast (2018) iterations already.

It’s a historical moment for Rugby Sevens as a women’s team will represent Team Scotland for the first time, having earned an invite to Birmingham after a strong performance at the 2021 Rugby Europe Sevens Championship Series, where they earned fourth place.

This will be a first Commonwealth Games experience for the 13-strong women’s team although they will be able to take guidance in the multi-sport Games time environment from Lisa Thomson who represented Team GB at the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo last year.

Fellow Olympians Alec Coombes, Robbie Fergusson and Ross McCann are joined by Jones and Jamie Farndale, who returns to Team Scotland from the 2018 Gold Coast Games to captain the side.

The men’s selection is completed by Kaleem Barreto, Matt Davidson, Harvey Elms, Grant Hughes, Paddy Kelly, Jordan Edmunds and Femi Sofolarin.

The women’s side will be co-captained by Helen Nelson and Lisa Thomson.

Their team selection is made up of a mix of experienced sevens and VXs players as well as exciting young talent. Completing their squad is Rachel McLachlan, Emma Orr, Megan Gaffney, Eilidh Sinclair, Evie Gallagher, Caity Mattinson, Chloe Rollie, Meryl Smith, Shona Campbell, Liz Musgrove and Rhona Lloyd.

Men’s Team Selection

Jamie Farndale (captain)
Alec Coombes
Ross McCann
Grant Hughes
Paddy Kelly
Kaleem Barreto
Robbie Fergusson
Matt Davidson
Harvey Elms
Lee Jones
Jordan Edmunds
Femi Sofolarin
Jacob Henry

Head Coach – Ciaran Beattie

Women’s Team Selection

Rachel McLachlan
Emma Orr
Megan Gaffney
Eilidh Sinclair
Evie Gallagher
Lisa Thomson (co-captain)
Helen Nelson (co-captain)
Caity Mattinson
Chloe Rollie
Meryl Smith
Shona Campbell
Liz Musgrove
Rhona Lloyd

Head Coach – Scott Forrest

The rugby sevens event will take place at Coventry Stadium from Friday 29 July – Sunday 31 July 2022.

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up