Edinburgh team named for derby decider

Edinburgh team named for derby decider

​Head Coach Richard Cockerill today named the Edinburgh Rugby team to face Guinness PRO14 rivals Glasgow Warriors in tomorrow night’s 1872 Cup derby decider at Scotstoun Stadium (Friday 7 May, kick-off 8.15pm) – live on Premier Sports.

The 2020-21 1872 Cup is being contested over three legs – with the clubs poised on one game apiece – Edinburgh winning the opening match at BT Murrayfield (10-7), with Glasgow levelling the series at Scotstoun (23-22).

The starting side features nine changes to the young group that defeated Zebre at BT Murrayfield a fortnight ago, with a host of the club’s international stars coming back into the fold.

Wing Duhan van der Merwe and centre Mark Bennett return to the outside backs in place of Blair Kinghorn and Matt Currie, who are unavailable on compassionate grounds and injury, respectively. Damien Hoyland moves to full-back.

Scrum-half Henry Pyrgos also comes in to start his 50th club appearances against his old club alongside 21-year-old stand-off Nathan Chamberlain, with the reselected centre George Taylor and Fijian wing Eroni Sau completing the back division.

Charlie Shiel (scrum-half), Charlie Savala (stand-off) and James Johnstone (centre) are the backs replacements on the bench.

The pack sees the most change with Pierre Schoeman, David Cherry and WP Nel replacing the starting front-row.

Props Boan Venter and Lee-Roy Atalifo move to the bench, where they are joined by club centurion Stuart McInally who last featured in the same fixture in January.

Fellow centurion Grant Gilchrist is another coming back to bolster the side and partners the reselected Jamie Hodgson, with 21-year-old lock Marshall Sykes earning a place on the bench.

Luke Crosbie’s try-scoring, player-of-the-match winning feats as skipper against Zebre are rewarded with his reinstatement in the back-row alongside Jamie Ritchie and Viliame Mata, who come in to complete the loose trio and the side, with Mesu Kunavula joining the replacements.

Head Coach, Richard Cockerill. said: “The players are always desperate to win this one.

“The games are important for competition points but there’s naturally an extra edge when you’re facing your biggest rivals, especially when you know them as well as these teams do.

“We’ve got a good mix of youth and experience, with some of our Test players coming back into the fold after a well-earned rest, alongside some younger guys getting exposed to a contest where the intensity should be right up there.

“The 1872 Cup is important to the city and to our fans. We’ll be going out there to win this one for ourselves and them.”

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium
1872 Cup, Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup, Friday 7 May (kick-off 8.15pm) – live on Premier Sports

15. Damien Hoyland (83)

14. Eroni Sau (23)
13. Mark Bennett (53)
12. George Taylor (34)
11. Duhan van der Merwe (65)

10. Nathan Chamberlain (8)
9. Henry Pyrgos (49)

1. Pierre Schoeman CO-CAPTAIN (61)
2. David Cherry (34)
3. WP Nel (153)
4. Jamie Hodgson (20)
5. Grant Gilchrist CO-CAPTAIN (158)
6. Jamie Ritchie (74)
7. Luke Crosbie (55)
8. Viliame Mata (87)


16. Stuart McInally (151)
17. Boan Venter (5)
18.Lee-Roy Atalifo (9)
19. Marshall Sykes (4)
20. Mesu Kunavula (9)
21. Charlie Shiel (33)
22. Charlie Savala (1)
23. James Johnstone (62)

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up