Edinburgh A team named for Scotstoun clash

Edinburgh A team named for Scotstoun clash

​Head Coach Richard Cockerill today named the Edinburgh Rugby A team to face Glasgow Warriors A at Scotstoun Stadium tomorrow afternoon (Thursday 4 February, kick-off 1pm).

Scotland caps Damien Hoyland and Murray McCallum both return from ankle injuries following lengthy lay-offs and start at full-back and tighthead prop respectively.

Fijian international Mesulame Kunavula starts at lock and provides further experience in the starting line-up.

FOSROC Academy prospects Sam Grahamslaw, Ben Muncaster, Roan Frostwick, Nathan Chamberlain, Matthew Currie and Nathan Sweeney are all named in the starting XV.

Former Scotland U20 captain Connor Boyle, 20, skippers the A side that includes 10 players that have featured at FOSROC Super6 level.

Head Coach Richard Cockerill, said: “This match-up will give our Academy players vital experience at senior level, while also allowing us the chance to interrogate the depth of our squad across the board, with options for game time so limited in the current circumstances.

“We’re really happy to see guys like Damien [Hoyland] back out there after long-term injury, while there will no doubt be plenty of players keen to make an impression with some important Guinness PRO14 fixtures coming up."

Hoyland starts at full-back, with Alec Coombes and Southern Knights flyer Nathan Sweeney selected on the wings.

Inside-centre Matt Gordon is paired with Watsonians' Matthew Currie in midfield, while former Scotland U20 duo Roan Frostwick and Nathan Chamberlain once again link-up at half-back.

The front-row sees hooker Sam Kitchen - who joined the club on a partnership deal with FOSROC Super6 side Ayrshire Bulls - pack down alongside props Grahamslaw and McCallum.

Lock Marshall Sykes faces his former club and is partnered by Fijian international Kunavula in the second-row.

Former Leicester Tigers and Rugby School number 8 Ben Muncaster anchors a back-row that features Ally Miller and Boyle on the flanks.

Elsewhere, stand-off Charlie Savala – who joined from Sydney Roosters in October – is named among the replacements and could get his first taste of action for the capital club.

The club will provide a match-round up following the fixture at Scotstoun, while extended highlights will also be produced.

Edinburgh Rugby A team to face Glasgow Warriors A at Scotstoun Stadium

Thursday 4 February (kick-off 1pm)

15. Damien Hoyland

14. Nathan Sweeney

13. Matthew Currie

12. Matt Gordon

11. Alec Coombes

10. Nathan Chamberlain

9. Roan Frostwick

1. Sam Grahamslaw

2. Sam Kitchen

3. Murray McCallum

4. Mesulame Kunavula

5. Marshall Sykes

6. Ally Miller

7. Connor Boyle CAPTAIN

8. Ben Muncaster


Patrick Harrison

Shaun Gunn

Cole Lamberton

Angus Williams

Rory Darge

Charlie Shiel

Charlie Savala

Cameron Scott

Scott King

Sam Pecqueur

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up