Academy quartet picked for Italy U20 test

Academy quartet picked for Italy U20 test

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray has named four Edinburgh Rugby academy prospects in his final 23 Friday's clash with Italy U20 (Friday 11 March, kick-off 6pm) at Stadio Comunale di Mongio - live on BBC iPlayer.

Ben Evans is selected on the wing for his first Scotland U20 start, after an impressive cameo performance from the bench against France, while Mikey Jones starts again at loosehead prop. Jed Gelderbloom and Rudi Brown - fresh from his Edinburgh Rugby debut against Connacht - are both named as replacements.

Scotland U20 are yet to pick up their first win of the tournament, and will face no small task against an Italian side that beat England 6-0 earlier in the campaign.

Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “Although the score line didn’t reflect it, there were some positives to take from the game against France.

“France were strong and powerful. We know Italy will bring more of the same, with added physicality, but we’ve already shown in the tournament that we can be strong, physical, and powerful too.

“We’ve selected a fairly settled side to face Italy. There are number of key partnerships within the team who have played several games together now and are beginning to gel, we’ll look for the whole squad to do the basics right to get the performance we want.”

Scotland U20 team to face Italy on Friday 11 March at Stadio Comunale di Mongio (Friday 11 March, kick-off 6pm GMT) – live on BBC iPlayer.

15. Robin Mc Clintock (Montpellier) (3)

14. Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (6)
13. Duncan Munn** (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (3)
12. Andy Stirrat** (GHA) (2)
11. Ben Evans (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (2)

10. Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors) (8)
9. Murray Redpath (Newcastle University) (7)

1. Michael Jones* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (8)
2. Gregor Hiddleston (GHA) (3)
3. Gregor Scougall** (Currie Chieftains) (3)
4. Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders) (3)
5. Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors) (7)
6. Matthew Deehan (Newcastle Falcons) (3)
8. Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) (8) CAPTAIN
7. Tim Brown (Glasgow Hawks) (1)

16. Duncan Hood (Bath University) (2)
17. Ali Rogers (Glasgow Hawks) (2)
18. Callum Norrie** (Strathallan School) (3)
19. Rudi Brown* (Watsonians Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby) (1)
20. Innes Hill (Ealing Trailfinders) (0)
21. Jed Gelderbloom (Edinburgh Rugby) (1)
22. Thomas Glendinning** (Glasgow Hawks) (4)
23. Keiran Clark** (Southern Knights) (0)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player
**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player
(N) donates previous Scotland U20 appearances

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up