16 players selected for 2020 Six Nations

16 players selected for 2020 Six Nations

​Sixteen Edinburgh Rugby players have been named in the Scotland squad for the upcoming Guinness Six Nations.

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has selected 12 forwards and four backs from the capital club, including uncapped back-row duo Luke Crosbie and Nick Haining.

The squad also features the return of Matt Scott and Rory Sutherland, who last featured for Scotland in victories on the road over Australia (2017) and Japan (2016) respectively.

Seven players are selected from the club’s tight-five, including Sutherland, Jamie Bhatti, WP Nel, Simon Berghan, Stuart McInally, Grant Gilchrist and Ben Toolis.

Magnus Bradbury, Jamie Ritchie, Hamish Watson and the aforementioned uncapped pair of Crosbie and Haining are selected from the back-row.

Four backs feature in the 38-man squad, with Blair Kinghorn, Darcy Graham, Henry Pyrgos and Scott all selected for the 2020 Championship.

On his selection, Townsend, said: “We’ve put a bigger emphasis on form as a guide for our selection, with those picked backed to grab their opportunity.

“A number of young players have broken through at their clubs, while the bulk of the squad [23/31] from Japan has been reselected based on some strong individual performances and good physical work put in.”

Scotland begin their 2020 Guinness Six Nations campaign against Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 1 February.

Scotland squad for the 2020 Guinness Six Nations


Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 24 caps

Jamie Bhatti (Edinburgh) – 15 caps

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 11 caps

Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 46 caps

Alex Craig (Gloucester) – uncapped

Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh) – uncapped

Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

Allan Dell (London Irish) – 28 caps

Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 6 caps

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps

Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 40 caps

Tom Gordon (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 55 caps

Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – uncapped

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 33 caps

Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 35 caps

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 14 caps

Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 3 caps

Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps

Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 28 caps

BACKS (17)

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 11 caps

Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 14 caps

Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps

Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) CAPTAIN – 72 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps

Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) – 3 caps

Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps

Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 17 caps

Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 44 caps

Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 9 caps

Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps

Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh) – 28 caps

Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 49 caps

Matt Scott (Edinburgh) – 39 caps

Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Ratu Tagive (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up