13 selected for Autumn Nations Series

13 selected for Autumn Nations Series

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named 13 Edinburgh Rugby players in his 42-man squad for the Autumn Nations Series.

In the forward pack, four uncapped Edinburgh stars are selected with Luke Crosbie, Pierre Schoeman, Jamie Hodgson and Marshall Sykes retaining their place from the wider training squad.

Stuart McInally, Grant Gilchrist, Nick Haining, Jamie Ritchie and Hamish Watson make up the remaining forwards selected from the capital pack.

The squad selection also sees backs Darcy Graham, Blair Kinghorn, Damien Hoyland and Mark Bennett get the nod for the four-test series.

The extended group welcomes back Captain Stuart Hogg, half-back pairing Ali Price and Finn Russell, centre Chris Harris, winger Duhan van de Merwe, flanker Hamish Watson as well as props Zander Fagerson and Rory Sutherland following their involvement in the South African series.

Support for Scotland continues to build ahead of the Autumn Nations Series with the confirmation today that the match against Australia on 7 November is sold out

A total of 11 new players are added to the squad from the training group which came together earlier this week at the Oriam High Performance Centre.

Alongside the B&I Lions contingent centres Matt Scott, Huw Jones and fly-half Adam Hastings retain their places alongside flanker Sam Skinner from the summer tour squad, which was hampered by Covid cancellations.

Also progressing to the Autumn Series squad are Edinburgh backs Graham, Kinghorn, Hoyland and Bennett. They are joined by fellow capital teammates Gilchrist, McInally Ritchie and Haining.

Scotland’s west-based professional side Glasgow Warriors provide experience also in the form of hookers Fraser Brown and George Turner, lock Rob Harley and back-row Matt Fagerson. Props Jamie Bhatti, Murray McCallum and Oli Kebble are also selected.

Glasgow Warriors centre Sam Johnson joins scrum half George Horne and wing Kyle Steyn who all also missed out on possible game time in the summer series and will compete again for places this autumn.

Head coach Townsend has selected 12 uncapped players to be part of the full tournament squad following their initial involvement in the training group this week.

In the pack Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Rory Darge, Dylan Richardson, Luke Crosbie, Jamie Hodgson, Marshall Sykes and Pierre Schoeman will all be keen to feature in the four-match series, which begins against Tonga on Saturday 30 October.

Glasgow Warriors provide all the uncapped backs in Rufus McLean, Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson and Sione Tuipulotu

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend said: “It’s exciting to bring together a blend of highly experience and uncapped players for the Autumn Nations Series.

“There have been some notable performances from both our home based players and those now playing outside of Scotland which has enabled us as coaches to select a group which are playing well and will be motivated across the four games.

“It is the right time to give younger players an opportunity to represent their country and all of them are in the squad on merit following their form in the early part of the season.

“We face four tough matches in four weeks so we know the group will be tested and Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan each present a different challenge and an opportunity to perform in front of our home fans at BT Murrayfield.

It’s great hear we will now play Australia in front of a capacity crowd at BT Murrayfield and it means a great deal to the players and coaches to have this level of support.”

Autumn Nations Training Squad


Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks - uncapped
Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby - uncapped
Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps
Fraser Brown – Glasgow Warriors – 54 caps
Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps
Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 38 caps
Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps
Nick Haining – Edinburgh Rugby – 8 caps
Rob Harley – Glasgow Warriors – 22 caps
Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
Oli Kebble – Glasgow Warriors – 8 caps
Murray McCallum – Glasgow Warriors – 3 caps
Stuart McInally – Edinburgh Rugby – 40 caps
Dylan Richardson – Cell C Sharks – uncapped
Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby – 27 caps
Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 12 caps
Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 16 caps
Marshall Sykes – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 17 caps
Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 41 caps


Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 22 caps
Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 19 caps
Jamie Dobie – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 28 caps
Adam Hastings – Gloucester Rugby – 23 caps
Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – 85 caps
George Horne – Glasgow Warriors – 14 caps
Damien Hoyland – Edinburgh Rugby – 4 caps
Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps
Huw Jones – Harlequins – 31 caps
Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 25 caps
Duhan van de Merwe – Worcester Warriors -
Rufus MacLean – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 42 caps
Finn Russell – Racing 92 – 55 caps
Matt Scott – Leicester Tigers – 39 caps
Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap
Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter sign up

Sign up to our newsletter today to receive the latest updates from the club.

sign up