NEWS | South African prop Schoeman joins Edinburgh

The club can today confirm the signing of 23-year-old former South African U20 prop Pierre Schoeman.

The loosehead – who currently plays for Pretoria-based Super Rugby side Blue Bulls – has penned a three-year-deal and will join the club following the conclusion of his side's Super Rugby season.

On securing a move to the capital, Schoeman said: “I am truly honoured and excited to join Edinburgh. It’s a beautiful city filled with tradition and culture.

“I can’t wait to pursue my dreams and give all my effort, time and attention to Edinburgh and its supporters.

“I am forever grateful to the Bulls and its fans and I thank them for their support over the years.”

Head Coach Richard Cockerill, added: “We’re delighted that Pierre will join the club next season. He’s a young, dynamic prop, who has a big future ahead of him.

“Pierre has shown his quality in Super Rugby and we’re excited to see what he’ll bring to what is an already strong Edinburgh front-row."

A product of Pretoria’s Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool, Schoeman represented South African Schools at early age before joining the Blue Bulls in 2010.

In 2014, the loosehead was named in the South African U20 squad for the Junior World Championship held in New Zealand where he scored against Scotland in a 61-5 group stage victory.

Schoeman has so far played a pivotal role in the Bulls Super Rugby season, starting in all six of the Pretoria-based side’s 2018 fixtures, including a Man of the Match performance in the 33-23 victory over Stormers last weekend.


INCOMING: Jason Baggott (Academy), John Barclay (Scarlets), Pietro Ceccarelli (Oyannax), Dave Cherry (London Scottish), Luke Crosbie (Academy), Dougie Fife (Scotland 7s), Simon Hickey (Bordeaux Beagles), James Johnstone (Scotland 7s), Callum McLelland (Castleford), Matt Scott (Gloucester), Pierre Schoeman (Blue Bulls), Charlie Shiel (Academy), Juan Pablo Socino (Newcastle Falcons)

RE-SIGNED: Lewis Carmichael, Chris Dean, Cameron Fenton, Damien Hoyland, Blair Kinghorn, Darryl Marfo, Bill Mata, Duhan van der Merwe, Stuart McInally, Jamie Ritchie, Ben Toolis

OUTGOING: Anton Bresler, Glenn Bryce, Kevin Bryce, Phil Burleigh, Neil Cochrane, Robbie Fruean, Tom Galbraith, John Hardie, Jason Harries, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Jordan Lay, Elliot Millar-Mills, Cornell du Preez, Junior Rasolea, Matt Shields, Jason Tovey, Duncan Weir