NEWS | Fifteen Edinburgh players included in Scotland's 2018 Autumn Tests squad

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend today named 15 Edinburgh players in a 40-man Scotland squad for the 2018 Autumn Tests.

The national team will face Wales in Cardiff on Saturday 3 November and contest the ‘Doddie Weir Cup’, as both teams honour the former Scotland and British & Irish Lions player diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease.

Scotland will then return home to BT Murrayfield for three home Tests against Fiji, South Africa and Argentina on the consecutive Saturdays that follow (10, 17 and 24 November), all of which are on target for capacity crowds, with South Africa sold out and Fiji and Argentina close behind.

Scotland Head Coach, Gregor Townsend, said: “We now begin the last 12 months of our preparations for Rugby World Cup 2019 with four Test matches in four weeks, a similar challenge to the one we’ll face in Japan.

“We’ve named a 40-man group for this campaign, which highlights the quality of player that is now available to us and the competition for places.

“It also enables us to welcome more players into our training environment and hopefully give a few more players a taste of Test match rugby.

“It’s going to be an exciting year for the squad but our primary focus is fixed on performing well against Wales – familiar opponents who have already recorded a win against us this year.”

Eleven out of the 15 Edinburgh players named in the squad are included in the forward pack, with front-row stars Simon Berghan, Allan Dell, Ross Ford, Murray McCallum, Stuart McInally all WP Nel all selected by Gregor Townsend.

Elsewhere, back-row trio Hamish Watson, Jamie Ritchie and Magnus Bradbury are selected, whilst experienced second-row pairing Grant Giclhrist and Ben Toolis are also included in the 40-man squad.

In the back-division, Townsend’s selection sees four Edinburgh players named with Dougie Fife, Henry Pyrgos, Matt Scott and Six Nations breakout star, Blair Kinghorn, all included.

Townsend has also invited Edinburgh back-row Luke Crosbie and wing Darcy Graham to train with the squad.

When accessing tickets to the Wales v Scotland match, supporters will be given the opportunity to automatically donate to the My Name’5 Doddie Foundation and Welsh Rugby Charitable Trust, although there is no obligation to do so with £0, £1, £2, £5 options available. Donations to the charity can also be made directly online via






Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps

Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 10 caps

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 4 caps

Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 34 caps

Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 13 caps

David Denton (Leicester Tigers) – 42 caps

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap

Ross Ford (Edinburgh) – 110 caps

Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 25 caps

Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 43 caps

Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

Murray McCallum (Edinburgh) – 3 caps

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 18 caps

Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

Gordon Reid (London Irish) – 32 caps

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 2 caps

Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – uncapped

Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – uncapped

Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 12 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps

Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 20 caps

Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps


BACKS (18)

Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps

Dougie Fife (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 4 caps

Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps

Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 35 caps

Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps

Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 5 caps

Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne) – 63 caps

Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 34 caps

Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 5 caps

Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps

Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh) – 27 caps

Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 37 caps

Matt Scott (Edinburgh) – 39 caps

Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 43 caps


Not considered through injury: John Barclay, Mark Bennett (both Edinburgh), Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Toulouse), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens).