Gilchrist to captain Scotland in Edmonton

Grant Gilchrist will captain Scotland against Canada at the Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton this Saturday in the absence of injured Edinburgh teammate Stuart McInally (9 June, kick-off 7pm local time, Sunday 2am UK time) – live on BBC.

McInally has failed to recover sufficiently from the calf strain he sustained on the eve of the squad’s departure for the summer tour, meaning Gilchrist – who captained Scotland against Argentina and South Africa on the 2014 tour – will skipper the side.

Gilchrist is one of ten Edinburgh players included in the matchday 23 as Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named a strong side to kick-off the 2018 Summer Tour. 

Making his debut in the front-eight is Jamie Ritchie. The former Scotland U20 captain has made 48 appearances for Edinburgh since he signed senior professional terms aged just 17. He will partner clubmate Magnus Bradbury and Leicester Tigers’ David Denton in the back-row.

Elsewhere in the pack, props Allan Dell and Simon Berghan get the nod in the front-row, while Ben Toolis partners Gilchrist in the engine room.

Blair Kinghorn – whose two caps to date have come on the wing – has been handed his first international opportunity in his more familiar role of full-back, where he plies his trade for Edinburgh.

After enjoying a breakout season for Edinburgh, second-row Lewis Carmichael is named amongst the replacements and if involved the 23-year-old will make his Scotland debut.

Carmichael is joined on the bench by clubmates Murray McCallum - a Scotland debutant during this year's NatWest 6 Nations - and 20-times capped centre Mark Bennett.

Scotland Head Coach, Gregor Townsend, said: “The coaches and I have enjoyed working the players this week in Vancouver and are pleased with how they have performed in training, getting through a lot of technical, tactical and conditioning work.

“We’ve now arrived in Edmonton where we will be putting the finishing touches on our preparation and aim to put a marker down at the beginning of this three-Test tour, against a side which has, historically, been a very tough side for Scotland over the years – especially on home soil.

“A number of opportunities have been given to players to play their way into our thinking on this tour and beyond and we look forward to seeing them take to the field this Saturday.”

The North American Tests against Canada on Saturday 9 June (kick-off 7pm, Sunday 2am UK time) and USA on Saturday 16 June (kick-off 8pm, Sunday 2am UK time) will be shown live on the BBC, with the final Test against Argentina on Saturday 23 June (kick-off 4.40pm, 8.40pm UK time) aired on Channel 4.


Scotland team to play Canada at the Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton

Saturday 9 June (kick-off 7pm local time, Sunday 2am UK time) – live on BBC


15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 2 caps


14 Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

13 Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps

12 James Lang (Harlequins) – uncapped

11 Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks)


10 Ruaridh Jackson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps

9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Scarlets) – 9 caps


1 Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 10 caps

2 Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps

3 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

4 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 9 caps

5 Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 22 caps

6 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh) – 2 caps

7 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – uncapped

8 David Denton (Leicester Tigers) – 39 caps



16 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps

17 Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

18 Murray McCallum (Edinburgh) – 1 cap

19 Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh) – uncapped

20 Luke Hamilton (unattached) – 1 cap

21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps

22 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

23 Mark Bennett (Edinburgh) – 20 caps


Saturday 9 June: Canada v Scotland

Commonwealth Stadium (kick-off 7pm, Sunday 2am UK time) – live on BBC

Saturday 16 June
USA v Scotland
BBVA Compass Stadium (kick-off 8pm, Sunday 2am UK time) – live on BBC

Saturday 23 June
Argentina v Scotland
Estadio Centenario (kick-off 4.40pm, 8.40pm UK time) – live on Channel 4