NEWS | Bennett returns for historic showdown

Head Coach Richard Cockerill has made three changes ahead of Edinburgh’s highly anticipated Guinness PRO14 Semi-Final Qualifier against Munster at Thomond Park tomorrow afternoon (Saturday 5 May, kick-off 3.15pm) - live on Sky Sport Action and BBC ALBA.

A revamped midfield sees Chris Dean return to action after missing last weekend’s 1872 Cup victory due to injury alongside Scotland international Mark Bennett who gets the nod at outside centre.

Fullback Blair Kinghorn – a late call-off in last weekend’s win over Glasgow Warriors – recovers from illness and is once again named in the starting XV.

As Edinburgh look to make history in what is their first-ever appearance in the PRO14 Final Series, Cockerill has once again called on his side to shake off the pressure and go into the game with confidence.

"It’s going to be a big day for us and we have earned the right to be there - the league table doesn’t lie,” said the Head Coach.

We can beat them if we get it right. We played a Munster second team in March, so we expect to face a different side tomorrow. They have world class players and are a different force at home. We’re looking forward to it and these are the challenges we want.

“We know if we play at our best, we will give ourselves opportunities to beat Munster. The chances are that they should win, however, they are at home and have just dropped out of Europe, so there is a bit of pressure on them.”

With Kinghorn reinstated at fullback, Dougie Fife returns to the wing alongside South African star Duhan van der Merwe. Jaco van der Walt and scrum-half Sam Hidalgo-Clyne are once again named at half-back.

An unchanged front-row sees props Jordan Lay and Simon Berghan pack down either side of captain Stuart McInally.

Scotland internationalists Ben Toolis and Grant Gilchrist continue in the second-row, whilst Fijian star Bill Mata features alongside Magnus Bradbury and Jamie Ritchie in an unaltered back-row.


Edinburgh team to face Munster in the Guinness PRO14 Semi-Final Qualifier at Thomond Park on Saturday 5 May (kick-off 3.15pm) – live on Sky Sports Action and BBC ALBA.


15. Blair Kinghorn (63)


14. Dougie Fife (106)

13. Mark Bennett (11)

12. Chris Dean (65)

11. Duhan van der Merwe (17)


10. Jaco van der Walt (16)

9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (107)


1. Jordan Lay (11)

2. Stuart McInally (119) CAPTAIN

3. Simon Berghan (48)

4. Ben Toolis (87)

5. Grant Gilchrist (119)

6. Magnus Bradbury (52)

7. Jamie Ritchie (48)

8. Bill Mata (36)


Replacements: 16. Neil Cochrane (75); 17. Allan Dell (43); 18. WP Nel (115); 19. Lewis Carmichael (32); 20 Cornell du Preez (104); 21. Nathan Fowles (58); 22. Duncan Weir (34); 23. James Johnstone (17)