NEWS | Fife to make 100th appearance as Edinburgh face Dragons

Dougie Fife will make his 100th appearance for Edinburgh after being named at fullback for tomorrow night’s Guinness PRO14 meeting with Dragons at Ebbw Vale’s Eugene Cross Park (Friday 23 February, kick-off 7.30pm).

Head Coach Richard Cockerill has made just two changes to the side who earned a dramatic victory away to Ulster last weekend.

After crossing the whitewash at the Kingspan Stadium, Jason Harries keeps his place on the wing. The Welshman is joined on the opposite flank by Duhan van der Merwe, Fife at fullback.

In the midfield, James Johnstone returns to the starting XV to partner Chris Dean. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Jaco van der Walt continue their half-back partnership.

An unchanged front-row sees Neil Cochrane pack down alongside Murray McCallum and Samoan international Jordan Lay, whilst last weekend’s try-scorer, Lewis Carmichael, and club captain Fraser McKenzie keep their place in the second-row.

After an impactful performance from the bench against Ulster, Magnus Bradbury returns to first team action alongside John Hardie and Bill Mata in the back-row.

Head Coach, Richard Cockerill said: “It’s another game that we want to win and so we’ve chosen a relatively unchanged side, who we believe have the quality to go to Ebbw Vale and get a result.

“Although we were happy with the win against Ulster, there are still lots of areas of our game in which we need improve, and if we don’t them right against the Dragons, then we’ll be punished.

“They’re a dangerous side, who at home are capable of beating anyone. So we’ll need to be at our very best in all facets of our game.”


Edinburgh team to face Dragons in the Guinness PRO14 at Eugene Cross Park on Friday 23 February (kick-off 7.30pm)


15. Dougie Fife (99)


14. Jason Harries (7)

13. James Johnstone (14)

12. Chris Dean (59)

11. Duhan van der Merwe (10)


10. Jaco van der Walt (10)

9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (102)


1. Jordan Lay (4)

2. Neil Cochrane (68)

3. Murray McCallum (35)

4. Fraser McKenzie (97) CAPTAIN

5. Lewis Carmichael (25)

6. Magnus Bradbury (45)

7. John Hardie (26)

8. Bill Mata (30)


Replacements: 16. Cameron Fenton (8); 17. Rory Sutherland (59); 18. Elliot Millar-Mills (3); 19. Cornell du Preez (97); 20. Luke Crosbie (10); 21. Nathan Fowles (52); 22. Duncan Weir (27); 23. Junior Rasolea (24)