NEWS | Six Edinburgh players included for Samoa clash

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has included six Edinburgh players in his 23-man squad to face Samoa this weekend at BT Murrayfield (Saturday 11 November).

An all-Edinburgh front-row sees uncapped Darryl Marfo make his first start for his country at loosehead prop. The former Bath and Harlequins star has impressed since joining Edinburgh in the summer and will pack down alongside Stuart McInally, who makes his first start for the Dark Blues since appearing in Scotland’s 21-16 victory over Japan in June 2016. WP Nel completes the all-capital trio and will earn his 19th cap for Scotland.

Ben Toolis, who appeared in all three of Scotland’s summer tour fixtures, earns his 5th cap and will partner Glasgow Warrior’s Jonny Gray in the second-row. Hamish Watson starts at open-side, earning his 13th cap for the Dark Blues.

Cornell du Preez is included in the replacements, and if called-upon, the number-eight will make his 3rd appearance for Scotland.


Scotland team to face Samoa at BT Murrayfield on Saturday 11 November (kick-off 2.30pm)


15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 53 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 36 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
12. Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 26 caps
11. Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps

10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 29 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

1. Darryl Marfo (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps
3. Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) – 18 caps
4. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 4 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 35 caps
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets) – 63 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 12 caps
8. Ryan Wilson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 30 caps


16. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
19. Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps
20. Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
21. Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) – 24 caps
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps
23. Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – uncapped