Head Coach Richard Cockerill has named his first Edinburgh team as the capital club prepares to take on Sale Sharks in their opening friendly match of pre-season at Meggetland tomorrow night (Friday 18 August, kick-off 7.35pm).

New signing Darryl Marfo starts in the front row whilst Scotland U20 back Darcy Graham makes his debut on the right wing. Jason Harries, who joined the Black and Red Army from London Scottish, starts on the left wing. The squad is further bolstered on the bench by a selection of players from the BT Sport Academy and Scotland 7s squad.

Speaking to, Cockerill said: “We’ve been working hard for the last nine weeks so it’ll be great to get out on the field and fire some live bullets for the first time. It’s been a really good pre-season so it’ll be interesting to see where we’re at.

“Sale obviously had a good win against Castres last weekend and it’ll be stiff opposition with the squad that they’re bringing and the players they’ve signed. The Premiership is a very physical league so they’ll have a really strong set-piece. Sale play a good brand of rugby and they’re very good with ball in hand.

“We know that they’re going to be very strong and that they’re going to be coming up expecting to win, so it’ll be a good mental test for us. We need to put a marker down around our physicality and our mentality around how we want to play.

“We’ve got to start putting our bodies on the line and seeing where the team is at.”

Tickets for the friendly match against Sale Sharks are available to purchase online here. Season Ticket Members can enjoy the match as part of their package – more information on Season Ticket Memberships can be found here.

Edinburgh team to play Sale Sharks in a pre-season friendly on Friday 18 August at Meggetland (kick-off 7.35pm)

15 Glenn Bryce

14 Darcy Graham
13 Chris Dean
12 Phil Burleigh
11 Jason Harries

10 Duncan Weir
9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1 Darryl Marfo
2 Stuart McInally
3 Simon Berghan
4 Anton Bresler
5 Grant Gilchrist
6 Jamie Ritchie
7 John Hardie
8 Cornell Du Preez

Substitutes: Jason Baggott**, Tom Brown, Lewis Carmichael, Neil Cochrane, Luke Crosbie**, Ross Dunbar**, Jamie Farndale*, Cammy Fenton**, Dougie Fife*, Nathan Fowles, Hugh Fraser, Callum Hunter-Hill, James Johnstone*, Blair Kinghorn, Murray McCallum, Fraser McKenzie, Ally Miller, Junior Rasolea

* Scotland 7s player
** BT Sport Academy player