One change to Edinburgh side for Treviso clash

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named one change to his starting Edinburgh Rugby side for tomorrow night’s Guinness PRO12 clash with Treviso at Stadio di Monigo (kick-off 8.05pm local). 

Jason Tovey starts at stand-off

The amendment comes at stand-off where Jason Tovey will start after recovering from a groin injury sustained in the European Challenge cup quarter-final against La Rochelle.

Acting Head Coach, Duncan Hodge, said: “ Our composure and error count let us down last week and we’ve continued to work hard in training to sharpen up on this front and make the appropriate improvements.

“We need to start the game well and gain control in the opening exchanges tomorrow night.

“Treviso have proven many times this season that they are a tough and well-drilled outfit. They’ll battle hard to get a foothold early in the game so we need to match them by getting off the mark faster than we did against Connacht.

“We see this game as a big chance to put right our wrongs of recent weeks.”

Glenn Bryce, who scored his first try for the club in last week’s match against Connacht, retains his spot at full-back with Damien Hoyland and Rory Scholes continuing on the wings.

Phil Burleigh and Chris Dean continue as the midfield duo for the fourth consecutive match, while Tovey is partnered at half-back by Nathan Fowles.

Hooker Ross Ford is named as captain and will start in the front-row with Murray McCallum and Simon Berghan.

Ben Toolis – who currently tops the Guinness PRO12’s defensive chart with 222 tackles – is named in the second-row alongside Fraser McKenzie.

Last week’s man of the match, Hamish Watson, and Viliame Mata, start on the flanks with Viliami Fihaki – called late into last week’s squad in place of Cornell Du Preez – starting at number eight.

Players unavailable due to injury: Magnus Bradbury (knee), Jack Cosgrove (ankle), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), John Hardie (knee), Nasi Manu (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Rory Sutherland (groin)

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Benetton Rugby Treviso at Stadio di Monigo in the Guinness PRO12 tomorrow (Saturday 15 April, kick-off 8.05pm)

15. Glenn Bryce

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Rory Scholes

10. Jason Tovey
9. Nathan Fowles

1. Murray McCallum
2. Ross Ford CAPTAIN
3. Simon Berghan
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Viliame Mata
7. Hamish Watson
8. Viliami Fihaki


16. Stuart McInally
17. Derrick Appiah
18. Kevin Bryce
19. Grant Gilchrist
20. Cornell du Preez
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Duncan Weir
23. Junior Rasolea