Scotland Under-20 Test Themselves Against Rbs Premier Division Leaders

Scotland under-20 and Ayr played a very close match at Millbrae tonight with the hosts just coming out on top.

RBS Premier Division league leaders, Ayr managed to create a 14-0 lead at half-time before advancing to 21-0 just shy of 60 minutes. However, a ten minute flurry from the national youngsters, in the dying minutes, saw them click into shape and finally capitalise on their high percentage of possession. The game ended 19-21.

Crossing the whitewash for Scotland under-20 was lock Adam Sinclair, winger JJ Kilmartin – who scored from his own chip – and stand-off Alex Hagart who was on the shoulder of another Kilmartin break that covered around 60 metres. Hagart converted two of the tries.

Scotland under-20 head coach, Sean Lineen, said: “First of all thank you very much to Ayr for welcoming us to Millbrae and putting out a full squad.

“This was our first game together and the players showed a really good team spirit and will take away a number of lessons from this match.

“We had the majority of the ball but we didn’t convert pressure into points at times and basic errors led to Ayr scoring on a number of occasions. That will be an important lesson to learn, how easily you can be punished.

“We did score some good tries though and every player put their hand-up for selection, for the next camp. They have given us, the coaches, a hard job because they have a lot of energy and want to be involved.”

Scoring for Ayr was full-back Craig Gossman, his brother and winger Kerr Gossman and back-row Shingi Mpofu. Stand-off Finn Russell converted all three tries.

Scotland under-20 team (first-half): Gavin Lowe; Peter Stewart, Chris Auld, Mark Bennett, Sam Pecquer; Tommy Allan, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; Jamie Bhatti, Russell Anderson, D’arcy Rae, Jonny Gray, Aaron Welsh, Alex Henderson, Will Bordill, Adam Ashe.

Scotland under-20 team (second-half): Ruaridh Young; Damian Hoyland, Keith Buchan, Robbie Fegusson, JJ Kilmartin; Ally Hagart, Ali Price; Shawn Muir, Callum Black, Phil Cringle, Adam Sinclair, Ruaridh Leishman, Tommy Spinks, Will Bordill, Cameron Turner.

Replacements: Murdo McAndrew, James Malcolm and Chris Barnes (all used)

Ayr team: Craig Gossman; Kerr Gossman, Ross Curle, Dean Kelbrick, Cammy Taylor; Finn Russell, Murray McConnell; Byron Schimdt, Stuart Fenwick, Nick Cox, Colin White, Peter McCallum, Andrew Dunlop, Ross Doneghan and Calum Forrester.

Replacements: Ali Miller, David Young, Hayden Wisnewski, Shingi Mpofu, Ben Rankin, Craig Brown, Peter Jericevich, Grant Anderson, Richard Dalgleish and Murray Beckwith.