Deadlock At Goldenacre

For the past few weeks fans, coaches, players and officials have all been talking about how competitive the RBS Premier Division has been this year.

No other game could have shown how true that fact is than the Heriot’s, Currie clash at Goldenacre today, which ended 27-27.

Currie led the match for the most part, but it was Heriot’s who had the final say, when back-row Russell Nimmo scored a try in the closing minutes. This gave them a conversion to win the game but it was pulled, by stand-off Graham Wilson.

Heriot’s head coach, Phil Smith, said: “We’re happy with the two points we got today, because the boys battled and battled to come from behind.”

Currie head coach, Ally Donaldson, said: “This result is a fair reflection of the game, but at this stage in the season we need to win, so it’s frustrating.

It was nail biting stuff right at the end, when Heriot’s had a conversion to win, fortunately they missed, but I’m not sure if the draw is two points won or two points lost.

Scoring for the hosts were Wilson with five penalties and a conversion, back-row Nimmo with a try and Jason Hill also with a try.

For Currie the points came from stand-off Jamie Forbes with two penalties and three conversions, which in-turn came from tries from lock Jonny Gray and wingers Alan Whittingham and Adam Hinds.

Elsewhere in the league, Ayr returned to winning ways with a devastating 51-5 win over Aberdeen Grammar at Millbrae, while Edinburgh Accies and Boroughmuir tussled it out at Raeburn Place. Accies emerged victorious, 18-15.

Heriot’s team: Mike Penn; Andy Scott, Max Learmouth, Rory Carmichael, Colin Goudie; Graham Wilson (captain), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; Craig Owenson, Kevin Bryce, Struan Cessford, Russell Nimmo, Brian Morrissey, Fraser Brown, Chris Mulligan, Jason Hill. Replacements: Gavin Cameron, CJ Ozawuma, Joe Naya, OJ Brown and Marc Teague.

Currie team: Jamie Forbes; Adam Hinds, James Johnstone, Simeon James, Alan Whitingham; Andrew Binikos, Richard Snedden; Alastair Hamilton, Fergus Scott, Fraser Watts, Simon Marcell, Jonny Gray, Mark Cairns (captain), Mike Entwhistle, Ross Weston. Replacements: Ross Merrilees, John Cox, Gary Temple, Malcolm Peacock and John Houston.

Kevin White