Ayr One Step Closer To Making Club Rugby History

Ayr Rugby Club have set the stage to make history on Saturday 21 April, after beating Boroughmuir in a tense encounter at Millbrae this afternoon.

They will compete in the RBS National Cup final against Gals in three weeks’ time and if they win the silverware they will be the first team to ever win it three times in a row.

Ayr won the match, 30-25 with tries from Ross Curle, Denford Mutamangira, John Willis and Andy Dunlop. Stand-off Robbie Fergusson also added two conversions and two penalties.


Ayr assistant coach, Peter Laverie, said: “Today’s match was really exciting, a thriller. Both sides gave everything they had and Boroughmuir were excellent.

“However, we were dominant up front and ultimately controlled the match through possession. The entire game was tight right to the end and physically intense throughout.

“There was a big crowd at Millbrae today and the match itself was a great advert for the game. Ross Curle scored a tremendous try and definitely deserved the man-of-the-match award.

“We’re delighted to be going to Murrayfield for the third time in the same amount of years and the boys really can’t wait.

“Gala are a good side who play hard for each other and who have had a flying season so far. But we know both teams will bring a big crowd and it will be a great game.”

Ayr team: Grant Anderson; Andrew Wilson, Ross Curle, Mark Stewart (captain), Steven Manning; Robbie Fergusson, Murray McConnell; Denford Mutamangira, Stewart Fenwick, Gordon Sykes, Scott Sutherland, Colin White, John Willis, Robbie Colhoun, Graham Fisken
Replacements: Andrew McFarlane, Andrew Kelly, Andrew Dunlop, A.J. McFarlane, Cammy Taylor

Boroughmuir team: Keith Buchan; Sep Visser, Malcolm Clapperton, Stevie Wilson, Redha Guedroudj; Ally Warnock, Sam Johnson; Nick Fraser, Sean Crombie, Jonny Latta, Iain Moody, Ali Davidson, Alex Henderson, Andrew Rose, Jamie Swanson
Replacements: Greg Jones, Robbie Wilson, Greg Scott, Neil Rodger, Jordan Webster